Are You Compliant with Required Meal and Rest Breaks?

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email

Under California law, non-exempt (hourly) employees are required a 30-minute uninterrupted meal break when working 5-10 hours. A second 30-minute break is required for a non-exempt employee working 10-15 hours.  The following requirements must be followed:

Meal Break Law Requirements:

  •       If you have an employee that is working a 6-hour shift, they are entitled to a 30-minute meal break but the employee and employer can agree to waive the meal period. 
  •       Since this meal period is off-the-clock, the employee is allowed to leave the premises and use the meal break as they wish to.
  •       Meal and rest breaks can NOT be combined to create one long break.

California has strict laws on rest breaks as well, 1 break for 3.5-6 hours of work and 2 breaks for 6-10 hours of work.

 Rest Break Law Requirements:

  •       Must be a consecutive 10 minutes uninterrupted
  •       These rest breaks must be paid
  •       Employees do NOT have to remain on the premises during the break

The charts below will provide you with a complete list of shifts and the number of required breaks they should be provided.

Hours on the Clock

Rest Breaks

0 – 3:29 hrs

0

3:30 – 6 hrs

1

6:01 – 10 hrs

2

10:01 – 14 hrs

3

14:01 – 18 hrs

4

18:01 – 22 hrs

5

Hours on the Clock

Meal Breaks

0 – 5 hrs

0

5:01 – 10 hrs

1

10:01 – 15 hrs

2

15:01 – 20 hrs

3

20:01 +

4

More To Explore

Employee Retention Tools
HR Resources

Employee Retention Tools

What tools can employers, HR partners, and managers use to optimize employee retention and provide recognition to their employees for their hard work?  In today’s